What is Zen?

 Kodo Sawaki Roshi in Zazen

 

Briefly expained

The essence of Zen is the practice of correct „Meditation“, – Zazen (sitting in the zen posture): One sits on a cushion, the legs are crossed in the lotus position, the spine is straight and stretched. Then one breaths slowly and gently. All thoughts, feelings, etc, are released.

 

 

 

In more detail

Zazen means to simply sit in an upright posture in deep concentration. “Simply” means that the vitality of body and mind are intensively brought together, concentrated and immersed in the Zazen posture. By doing this, body and mind are completely awake and centered as a whole in the powerful stillness of the present time.

Our individual life thus becomes anchored in the original depth of life. The body and mind can draw on its inner source, replenish itself and can become independent of the need to achieve a goal or confirmation from without. The limitations of a consciousness that has to count everything and is always in search of a personal profit, falls away. Life manifestes itself in its immediate quality.

The Zen posture is achieved by sitting upright on a cushion with your legs crossed. The awareness is focused on the vigor of the posture and a slow, gentle breath. Thoughts and images that arise within the space of the concentrated mind are neither pushed aside nor judged nor followed. The consciousness and the subconscious are given the chance to empty themselves. Body and mind thus return to their original clear state.

Zen is by its nature the experiencing of a deeper quality of reality. This experience is based on practice and can neither be anticipated nor substituted by thinking. Words and concepts are not able to capture the living reality. The Zen path is the actualization of a deeper reality through practice.

 

 

In even greater detail

You will experience it when you practice Zen.

Weekly schedule

Monday:7:00 - 8:40 pm
Wednesday:7:00 - 8:20 pm
Friday:7:00 - 8:40 pm
Saturday (2x per month):10:00 - 11:40 am

Please arrive at least 15 Minuten before Zazen begins.

Apply for an introduction?

Zen-Dôjô Kyo Dai Zan, Leipzig
Zen-Dôjô   Kyo Dai Zan, Leipzig

Was ist Zen?

Mit einem Bild ausgedrückt (Kodo Sawaki Roshi in Zazen-Haltung)

 

Kurz gesagt

 

Die Essenz des Zen ist die Ausübung einer korrekten "Meditation, - Zazen (Sitzen in der Zen-Haltung): Man sitzt auf einem Kissen, die Beine im Lotus gekreuzt, die Wirbelsäule aufrecht und gestreckt. Dann langsam und sachte ausatmen. Alle Gedanken, Empfindungen etc. loslassen.

Genauer gesagt

 


 Zazen ist, in einer aufrechten Haltung tiefer Konzentration einfach zu sitzen. Einfach heißt, die Vitalität von Körper und Geist sind intensiv gesammelt, konzentriert, versenkt in die Zazen-Haltuing. Körper und Geist sind dadurch völlig wach und wie eins in der kraftvollen Stille der gegenwärtigen Zeit zentriert.
Unser individuelles Dasein wird so wieder im Urgrund des Lebens verankert. Körper und Geist können aus einer inneren Quelle schöpfen, sich selbst erneuern und werden unabhängig von einem Erreichenmüssen eines Ziels oder einer äußeren Bestätigung. Die Begrenzung durch ein Bewusstsein, das alles zählen muss und immer auf der Suche nach persönlichem Gewinn ist, fällt ab. Leben offenbart sich in seiner unmittelbaren Qualität.

Die Zazen-Haltung besteht darin, auf einem Kissen mit gekreuzten Beinen in aufrechter Haltung zu sitzen. Die Aufmerksamkeit wird auf die Spannkraft der Haltung und eine langsame, sachte Ausatmung konzentriert. Im Raum des gesammelten Geistes auftauchende Gedanlen und Bilder werden weder zurückgewiesen noch beurteilt noch verfolgt. Bewusstsein und Unterbewusstsein können sich entleeren. Körper und Geist kehren so zu ihrer ursprünglichen, ungetrübten Verfassung zurück.

Zen ist in seinem Wesen Erfahrung einer tieferen Qualität der Wirklichkeit. Diese Erfahrung gründet sich auf Ausübung und kann duerch das Denken weder vorweggenommen noch ersetzt werden. Worte und Begriffe können die lebendige Wirklichkeit nicht wirklich einfangen. Der Zen-Weg ist die Aktualisierung einer tieferen Wirklichkeit durch Ausübung.


Ganz genau

 


werden Sie es erfahren, wenn Sie Zazen praktizieren, - ausüben.


Kontakt:

Zen-Dojo Kyo Dai Zan

Gießerstraße 75

Alte Handelsschule

3. OG  (Raum 311)
04275 Leipzig

 

Rufen Sie uns an unter

+49 174 - 2012 204 

(Günter Ohlig)

 

oder nutzen Sie unser

Kontaktformular.